Issue Numbers
Volume 9 Issue 1-2
Volume 8 Issue 6
Volume 8 Issue 5
Volume 8 Issue 4
Volume 8 Issue 3
Volume 8 Issue 2
Volume 8 Issue 1
Volume 7 Issue 6
Volume 7 Issue 5
Volume 7 Issue 4
Volume 7 Issue 3
Volume 7 Issue 2
Volume 7 Issue 1
Volume 6 Issue 6
Volume 6 Issue 5
Volume 6 Issue 4
Volume 6 Issue 2
Volume 6 Issue 1
Volume 5 Issue 6
Volume 5 Issue 5
Volume 5 Issue 4
Volume 5 Issue 3
Volume 5 Issue 2
Volume 4 Issue 3
Volume 4 Issue 2
Volume 4 Issue 1
Volume 3 Issue 7
Volume 3 Issue 6

The Miller Family Book Collection

by Moriah Harris-Rodger

Author: Mildred A. Martin, (Green Pastures Press, HC 67, Box 91-A, Mifflin, PA 17058.) Books and workbooks are available at for $5 - $16+ (Age range varies depending upon the book, from 4 up)

The Miller Family book collection, written by Mildred A. Martin, is for young children to learn about conservative Christian values, using the King James Version of the Bible. Most of the books are about a fictional Amish family named "The Millers." They are a caring family that is made up of a mother, a father and their children. Most of the books have beautiful sketches throughout and all of them have a strong Christian message.

The first book of the collection, first published in 1989, is "Wisdom and the Millers: Proverbs for Children," 159 pages long. The book is written for children ages 6 to 13. It is a collection of 25 short stories that are centered on scripture, with a beautiful sketch for almost every story. Each story shows how the Miller Family uses the Bible to learn how to be good people and Christians. Some of the stories show how the parents teach the children lessons through Bible study and could probably be used in correlation with a Bible study.

"Working with Wisdom" is the workbook that goes with "Wisdom and the Millers." It has a section for each short story from the book and verifies reading comprehension and encourages further contemplation of the topics discussed in the stories. Some of the activities are a word search, proofreading practice, vocabulary and practicing looking things up in the Bible.

The second book, first published in 1992, is "Storytime with the Millers," 110 pages long. It is a collection of 12 short stories that have large print, few words to a page and at least one sketch per story so a young reader can follow along, written for children ages 4 to 8. Each of these stories is about the members of the Miller family and shows how the Bibleís lessons are applicable to their lives. Some of the lessons are obedience, returning good for evil and kindness.

The third book is "Missionary Stories with the Millers," 202 pages long. The book was written for children of all ages but does not have sketches to correlate with the stories. It is a collection of 29 short stories that are based on true stories from all over the world. Each story begins with a map that highlights the country discussed. They tell stories about the missionariesí experiences, and how they use Godís Word to make decisions, even when they are so far away from their safe and familiar surroundings. Some parts of the stories may be graphic for young children, so reading these with a parent, who can discuss these parts with them, may be a good idea. Martin isnít gratuitous with her descriptions however, and includes these parts to show the intensity of the situations. Martin bases these short stories on incidents in books like "Out of the Jaws of the Lion" and "Into the Glory."

The fourth book is "Prudence and the Millers," 190 pages long. The first short story of the book defines prudence according to Proverbs 22:3, "A prudent man forseeth the evil, and hideth himself; but the simple pass on and are punished." The dictionary they use defines it as "skill and good judgment" and "caution or circumspection as to danger or risk." Mr. Miller says that it is prudence that keeps "Christians safe from many of the dangers that ungodly people fall into," and uses the examples of AIDS, cigarettes, drugs, alcohol and dressing "half-naked." Each short story explains how to be prudent in different scenarios and is for children at the fourth to sixth grade levels.

"Prudence and Your Health" is the workbook that goes with "Prudence and the Millers." It was arranged so that a child can read a short story in "Prudence and the Millers" and then fill out the workbook pages that teach further lessons about prudence. The main focus of the book, though, is on taking care of oneís body and social etiquette. Some of the topics are anatomy, illnesses, healthy attitudes, teeth, muscles, eyes, the respiratory system, respect for privacy, poisonous plants and setting the table.

The final book of the set, published in 1995, "School Days with the Millers," is 157 pages long. The book was written for children ages 7 to 14, almost every story with a picture. Its stories are also written with moral values, and it is formatted similarly to "Wisdom and the Millers" and "Storytime with the Millers." But, instead of the farm setting of "Wisdom and the Millers" or the home setting of the "Storytime with the Millers," "School Days with the Millers" is set at school. The stories often involve problems with school and the Bible passages that help. A child doesnít have to attend school, though, to benefit from these lessons. The lessons can solve any social problems they may have. Basically the book teaches about dealing with people and having a positive self-esteem.

Martin also created an art book to go along with the series of books, "Make and Do with the Millers." Children can color, decorate and fill out the workbook as they go through the stories. At the bottom of each page is a two-line rhyming verse that correlates with the lesson that the story on that page is about. It is a fun way for children to express their creativity after reading the stories.

The collection of books and workbooks, is available at some bookstores and online, or you can write to Green Pastures Press, HC 67, Box 91-A, Mifflin, PA 17058.